GILTY Taste, Finger Limes

So I was browsing Gilt.com  tonight which I haven’t visited in a while. I first worked with Gilt Groupe three years ago. I met founders Alexis & Alexandra who are the nicest, smartest women I have met. When they told me the idea and concept of this site I thought it was genius.

If you have no idea what I am talking about cause either The Royal Wedding, Charlie Sheen, or Pippa have been flooding your internet then here it is….Gilt Groupe provides instant insider access to today’s top designer labels, at up to 60% off retail. Become a member and find something new every day for women, men, kids and home as well as exclusive local services and experiences, and one-of-a-kind travel packages. Sign in and see what inspires you today.

However I came across Gilt Taste which is FREAKISHLY AWESOME!!  I am obsessed with food and kitchen items. Just when I thought I had heard or seen every type of fruit and vegetable I came across Finger Limes.

Here’s what Gilt describes them as:

These rare, gherkin-size beauties charm with their elegant nickname (“caviar limes”) and an incredible texture: Split one open lengthwise and spoon out a few pearls. As with caviar, the tiny beads inside pop in your mouth, releasing a splash of bright, tart juice. Dazzle guests by using them as garnishes on ceviches, crudos, cocktails or your best Key lime pie. Gilt’s price is $32.95/pint plus $9.95 S&H.

various finger limes
various finger limes

Now that my attention is peaked I just had to look up when and where to use these new treasures in the kitchen. So I found some recipes on http://www.wildfingerlime.com/recipe.html

Yes Finger limes have their OWN website. Weird (cool)

INGREDIENTS
1 fresh kaffir-lime leaf, sliced into thin strips
2cm piece fresh ginger, peeled and sliced into thin strips
1 red banana chilli, seeded and finely sliced
25ml Tamari or light soy sauce
Finger lime to serve
METHOD
Place oysters in a 25sm bamboo steamer basket and top each with 1-2 pieces each of the kaffir-lime leaf, ginger and chilli.
Add 1cm of water to a wok and bring to the boil. Place steamer basket over wok, cover with a lid and steam for 1 minute 45 seconds. Remove basket from wok and place basket onto a serving plate. Drizzle with Tamari and squeeze finger limes over the oysters.
Serve immediately.

CLICK THE GILT LOGO TO SIGN UP TODAY!!

One thought on “GILTY Taste, Finger Limes

  1. LT September 20, 2011 / 7:11 am

    I love finger limes… Yum!!

Leave a Reply

